Swiffing

I love my apartment!!!  Today I bought a Swiffer, and I lovingly “swiffed” the floors.  Ah, the little joys in life…

I’m afraid swiffing might take the place of vaccuuming as my addiction.  God help me if I ever buy the Swiffer duster, which I’ve been wanting!  Actually, when I was a kid dusting was one of my favorite household chores.  (That was before I discovered the joys of a vaccuum cleaner.)  Dusting, vacuuming, swiffing or sweeping…There’s something about making a clean surface.  It feels like a loving action.  I’m caring for myself, and for anyone else who might visit, or my family/roommates if I live with someone.  Even if it’s just me, I’m giving myself a peaceful, restful sanctuary from the rest of the world.  If I wake up to find a clean kitchen, it’s like a springboard of momentum.  I want to care for myself by making a good breakfast in that clean kitchen.  I want to get going to work so I can get there bright and early and get stuff done.  I come home to that peaceful sanctuary, and I want to do something good for myself, whether it’s exercise, or do the laundry, or relax in a nice hot tub full of bubbles.  Whatever I need on that particular day.

It’s not about perfection, or standards of cleanliness, or making my house look like a magazine or something.  It’s about taking care of me, and taking care of the other people who might be here.  It’s about the joy of swiffing!  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy Gudenkauf
    Jan 15, 2008 @ 15:44:09

    When would you be available to come visit me? Your vaccum, swiffer, sweeper and duster are welcom as well. Even though I am just kidding, we would love to see you sometime! Tammy and Emily

    Reply

  2. Tara
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 20:41:09

    You are such a dork 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

