Happy New Year!

New Year has never been one of my favorite holidays.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t dislike it the way I have disliked Halloween in the past.  It’s fine, and it’s fun, and it’s a perfectly acceptable excuse to get together with friends, drink, stay up late, count down to midnight, etc.  But it’s just a party.  It’s just a digit changing on the date.  If that were so exciting, we’d count down every night.  “…3….2….1….Happy March 17th!”  🙂

I’m also not into New Year’s resolutions.  It’s hard enough giving something up for 40 days at Lent!  🙂  A couple of years ago, my New Year’s resolution was to run a 5K, and I did that.  That’s the only memorable New Year’s resolution I have.  This year, I suppose I would like to continue with my habit of working out, eating healthy, and losing weight.  But I started three months ago.  I guess really I started years ago, if you think about it.  🙂  Calling it my New Year’s resolution sort of sets me up for failure, because I know from experience that putting too much pressure on myself, on this one goal, I don’t stick to it.  I’m going to keep doing what’s been working for three months.  It’s just a habit, something I do.  It’s no big deal.  It’s about as praise-worthy as giving the dog a bath, or something so mundane. 

Everything that I can think of that would be a New Year’s resolution is something that I’ve been working on already, one baby step at a time.  Making my apartment into a home I love.  Buying something because I love it, not because it’s on sale or because it fits.  Becoming more earth-conscious.  Opening myself up to new people and new situations. 

Ooh, I’ve got it!  In 2008, I am going to read and return all the books I have borrowed from people!!!  🙂  Perfect.  I have 10 borrowed books up on a shelf right now, and I have read about half of them.  If I return the ones I’m done with, and then try to read and return one a month, I’ll be done by summer.  Which is when I’ll probably borrow some more.  🙂  But I’ve had some of these books for a long time, so it’s time.  Not a great New Year’s resolution, or I guess not a typical resolution, but it’s perfect for me.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarah
    Jan 01, 2008 @ 18:08:28

    You know, March 17th is St. Patrick’s day. Perhaps some people (those with green beer?) do countdown to midnight on that day!

    Reply

  2. Mom
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 21:08:18

    It’s also the “family birthday.” Doris J., Logan, and Great-Grandma McGraw!

    Reply

  3. Betty
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 08:50:09

    It gave me a chuckle that in just randomly picking a day of the year you choose March 17th! Logan still counts down to that day each year!
    I am glad you like your new home–I can’t wait to see it.

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 22:47:17

    Happy New Year. Now, time for an update. 🙂 I check everyday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

