Small Spaces

Small ApartmentSmall ApartmentSmall ApartmentNot only am I counting down the days (19 left) and making lists of things to do (today–file all the old bills that I’ve been piling on a shelf), but I’m also getting excited about decorating and arranging furniture.  My new apartment will be a little smaller than my current apartment, and I’m actually excited about that.  In my current apartment, I have a hard time figuring out what to do with all the space.  Small living spaces that are set up for both funtionality and asthetic pleasing are so nice to look at and be in.

I’ve been looking at the pictures of this apartment and this apartment.  Both are apartments lived in by the same family, at different times of course.  In both apartments, I love the use of space.  She also really seems to only keep things that she loves, which is what I’m working toward.  A few months ago I noticed that I only buy things I love, and my desire to have a easy, efficient move has inspired me to only keep things I love.  If I carry a box up to my new apartment, I want to know that what’s inside, I really want to keep.

I have always liked things to be neat and clean.  When things are put away, it makes my living space feel peaceful.  When there is clutter, I feel stress.  I’ve noticed that in this apartment, I’ve felt a lot of stress as a result of clutter.  It’s crazy, because I have so much space!  For some reason, when you have more space than you need, it’s so easy to let it get cluttered.  When your space is smaller, you put stuff away.  My new apartment is only a little smaller than this one, but hopefully it’s enough of a change to get back in the habit of a clean, peaceful living space.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tara
    Dec 02, 2007 @ 20:15:25

    Is there anything for your new apartment that you’d like that we could get you for your birthday or Christmas? Think about it and let us know!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

