The Joy of Squash

Awhile back, I blogged about a butternut squash.  I love to bake them, because the smell of baking squash is home for me.  My mom used to bake squash through the fall and winter.  It makes my kitchen warm and cozy.

(Sidenote…Does anyone know why squash are categorized as “summer” and “winter” squash?  They are harvested about the same time of year, aren’t they?)

Anyway, I love spaghetti squash, and I can get on board with acorn squash with a bit of brown sugar and cinnamon, but I have a hard time eating butternut squash.  Something about the pure squash flavor is just…yuck.  Even the garlic squash recipe that I posted about the last time, after just a few yummy bites, it started to go towards too much squash flavor. 

Well, I got another butternut squash from my neighbor.  So I decided to try another recipe, from Everyday With Rachel Ray magazine, called “Butternut Squash Soup with Sweet and Spicy Pecans.”  Just a couple problems.  I didn’t have any pecans.  Or celery.  So I improvised a bit, and what I ended up with was AWESOME!!!  I had a little bit of seconds, it was so great!  I’m seriously thinking about buying another butternut squash when this batch of soup is gone!

Sweet and Spicy Butternut Squash Soup

1 butternut squash, halved, seeds removed

butter

salt and pepper

1 onion, chopped

1 can cream of celery soup

1 teaspoon brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon chili powder (or more)

1 small can evaporated milk

1 teaspoon chicken broth powder

1/2 cup water

1. Preheat oven to 400.  Place the squash cut side up on a rimmed baking sheet.  Brush with butter and season with salt and pepper.  Bake until brown on the edges and fork-tender at the thickest part, about 1 hour.

2. Melt about a tablespoon of butter in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add the onion, season with salt and pepper, and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 6 to 7 minutes.

3.  Scoop the squash flesh from the skins and add to the pot.  Add remaining ingredients and bring to a simmer, stirring occasionally with a wisk to mash the squash.

Sorry about the lack of precise measurements.  I love to cook and bake, and I read the recipe, but I usually don’t measure as precisely as the recipe does.  A tablespoon of butter?  A teaspoon of chili powder?  I just put as much as I think looks right.  This situation is the perfect example.  I read the recipe for soup with pecans, but ended up with something very different.  That’s the joy!

My other adventure today was baking chocolate chip cookies with no brown sugar.  Did you know you can use white sugar and molasses instead?  It works great. 

I really need some more people in my house to eat this food I love to cook!  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Doris
    Nov 12, 2007 @ 15:06:41

    Summer squash versus winter squash–The summer stuff is like Zucchini that is ready in early summer, softer, and doesn’t keep too long after ripe; winter squash is like acorn, butternut, and speghetti squash that is firmer, ready in late summer early fall and stores well into the winter in the cool of the basement. Now that is way more than you ever wanted to know I am sure. Enjoy your squash! It is good for your health with all those beta carratene antioxidants. You will be well preserved.
    Doris

    Reply

  2. Tammy
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 23:18:17

    What about hubbard squash? Winter right? Does anyone grow hubbard squash anymore? Mom used to grow them. They were huge! Or maybe I was small then. I thought we would never get any other vegetable again when she cooked one of those. Didn’t they look a bit like a watermelon?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

