I have a chicken dog.

On Thursday night the cover for my kitchen light fixture was sitting on the floor next to Pal’s food and water.  Usually when I put his food in his dish, he eats it right up, you can’t distract him for anything.  It takes him one or two minutes.  On Thursday, he sort of snuck up beside the light cover, took a quick bite, and raced back to the dining room.  Then this process would start all over for the next bit.  It took him 35 minutes to eat, but it was hillarious to watch!

Yesterday morning I decided to go for a walk and take Pal with me.  Near my apartment there is a new freeway-type road, and the trail goes underneath it, next to the pillars that hold it up.  The trail is right under a major interchange, where the street splits into the older street and the newer “express lanes,” so there’s probably five or six separate bridge structures holding up all the lanes.  I haven’t walked that direction since it’s been done.  It was about 8:00 in the morning, so of course there was plenty of traffic up on the lanes above me.  Whenever something big would drive over us, it would echo like crazy under the bridge, and Pal would run panicked over to my feet and cower behind me.  He would look around like he expected some huge truck to come barrelling down the trail at us.

Last night, just as I was falling asleep, I heard the gentle “whoosh” of a towel falling off the hook in the bathroom.  Pal sat up and started howling, and ran into the bathroom to bark at it.  I didn’t care about the sound of the towel, but Pal scared the crap out of me!

He’s not a very good guard dog!  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Nov 10, 2007 @ 19:53:28

    I am sooooo happy your back!!!!!! I love the stories–the Pal ones, the kid/student ones, and yes the guy ones too! You may not be able to count on Pal to protect you but he certainly isn’t afraid to let you know when something is different or scarry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

