Lucky Opportunities

I had a very stressful morning, and yet I come away from it feeling like the luckiest girl in the world, in a way.  It happens to everyone.  My car broke down, I was stranded on the interstate.  That is a horrible feeling.  In a situation like that, I want someone to come and scoop me up and take care of me.  I don’t need them to, but that’s what I want.  I’m on the verge of tears, so I appear to be just losing it, totally unable to handle it.  But in my mind, I’m thinking about what I need.  I need the phone number of a tow truck.  I need to know where I should take the car…I’ll ask the tow truck guy where he recommends.  I need to get to work…Maybe the tow truck guy can drop me at my apartment so I can take the other car.  I look like I’m losing it, but I know what I have to do.  What I’m asking for is simple…a phone number.

There are two boys in my life who always, always go above and beyond what I’m asking for.  They seem to know what I want, beyond what I need.  They are both so generous with their role as the men in my life.  I called them both this morning looking for a phone number.  By the time either one of them was able to call back, I had found one, and I had what I needed, but of course not all of what I wanted.

My friend Chad…my best guy friend for sure, definitely plays the “role” of the man in my life from time to time.  (If someone wants to ask permission to marry me someday, they should probably ask Chad!)  When he called back, I was waiting for the tow truck, but he was all ready to have someone cover his classes and come get me.  I so wanted him to, I sort of wished I had gotten ahold of him before the tow truck, but I was okay.  Just the fact that he was planning to totally screw up his own day like that, he gave me beyond what I needed, just knowing that if I hadn’t been able to find what I needed, he would have been there. 

My friend Brian…plays the role of the big brother I don’t have.  He is magic, I’m telling you.  Somehow, when I need him, he’s already around.  He called back when the tow truck was just hooking up the car, and he was going to be driving past me anyway.  (How coincidental is that?)  So he suggested a place to take the car, and took me back to my apartment to get the other car.  Then he checked on my car during the day, called me to let me know what was wrong and how much it would cost, called them back to let them know I decided to fix it, and offered to pick me up in the morning to take me there.  None of this was needed, nor was it asked for.  It was exactly the “scoop me up and take care of me” that I wanted, even though I could handle it if I didn’t get it. 

I needed a phone number, and both of these guys gave me far more than that today.  It was a stressful situation, to be sure.  But I feel like I’ve been given opportunities.  Brian has been out of my life for far too long, just by us all being busy and sort of losing touch.  I talk so much about wanting roots, Brian and his wife Jenna are my roots here in the city.  When this area was so new to me, and they barely knew me, they took care of me.  As for Chad, it’s been a long time since I’ve needed him like that.  Chad’s wife Tara is my best girlfriend, and we lose touch during the school year a bit.  I hate that “losing touch” situation of friendships.  It takes effort.  It’s so easy to get into my routine, and not make an effort to get together with people, even though they are people I really care about!  So the opportunity today is to be reminded to stay in contact with these four people who I love so much, and to seek out ways to get together with them here and there, even though we’re all busy.  It’s important.  What could be more important than your relationships with the people you care about?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Nov 02, 2007 @ 11:09:41

    Cute blog. Yay for Chappy and Brian. BUT, I’d like to be a little pill and remind you that you should also remember your friends who don’t live in the same city as you, and try to get together with them here and there too. Because, I’m assuming, there are people outside of your city that you care about as well.

    Hope today was tons better! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Tara
    Nov 03, 2007 @ 16:52:13

    We’re glad that we can be here to help you out when needed. It’s nice to have some best friends close. We know we don’t get together as much as we should (cuz quite frankly we’re all exhausted at the end of the day), but we are still here for you. Love ya and have fun at Megan’s musical this weekend. We’ll talk when you get back! Love, Tara and Chad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

