I can’t do this.

There’s something liberating about the phrase I can’t do this.  I suppose it sounds kind of like you’re giving up, but it depends on the situation.  There are things we were never meant to control.  Trying to control them makes us crazy.  Letting go, saying I can’t control this, allows us to accept them as they are and deal with them as they come.

There is one particular situation that I was stressing about yesterday.  It’s an example of needing a square peg to fit in a round hole, or needing to take down a brick wall using only a toothpick.  Or at least that’s what it felt like.  Sarah suggested Proverbs 3:5 to me, and I just gave the problem away.  I’ve never understood that very well, “give your problems to God.”  I’ve always thought, I can tell God my problems all I want, but at the end of the day, I still have to find a way to solve them!  What seems impossible usually is, and all the prayer in the world won’t change that.  My perspective has changed a bit.  With this problem last night, I prayed, I can’t do this.  YOU do this.  It’s not that it was something I couldn’t handle, or something I didn’t want to do.  It was me trying to solve an impossible problem with only the resources I had, which didn’t fit the problem.  It wasn’t going to happen, no matter how much I thought about it and worried over it. 

But of course, God has wisdom I don’t have.  I expected Him to change the resources I had to fix the problem, instead, He changed the problem.

It’s all about TRUST….  🙂

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, do not depend on your own understanding.

Proverbs 3:5

Leave a Reply

