Unexpected Sorrow and Joy

The sorrow of the week…

I lost a student this week.  (No, I do not mean I misplaced him.  And no, I do not mean he died.)  He had moved to another school district a couple of weeks ago, and they were hoping to find a preschool that was closer to their new home.  I’m truly glad they did, because now he’ll be with the same kids he’ll see next year in kindergarten.  But he is such a joy, I’m really missing him!  The other kids really miss him.  It happened really suddenly, I was basically told when he was picked up one day that he wouldn’t be back.  When I told the kids that he wouldn’t be coming back, that he had to go to a school that was closer to his house, some of the kids started crying!  In a small way, it feels like a member of the family is missing.  We aren’t the same without him.

The joy of the week…

I tried a great new recipe this week!  Since it’s getting colder, I’m in the mood for soup.  This week I tried “Garlic Soup With Toast,” which is like a spicy egg drop soup.  It really warms you up!  I was pretty proud of myself for trying something so unfamiliar.  I even had to buy two new spices for it, cumin and cayenne pepper.  I’ve never used either one before.  And, it calls for SIX cloves of garlic!  I’ve never in my life used more than one in a single recipe!  But it turned out great.  It makes an excellent side dish for a big hearty salad and a big glass of milk.  It would be a wonderful winter mid-afternoon snack, because it warms you up, but there’s not much to it, mostly just broth poured over toast. 

Garlic Soup With Toast

4 slices bread

vegetable cooking spray

1 T vegetable oil

6-8 cloves garlic, finely chopped

½ tsp ground cumin

1/4 tsp dried oregano leaves

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

3 ½ cups vegetable stock (I used chicken broth.)

1 egg, beaten 

salt, to taste

cilantro, finely chopped, as garnish (I skipped this ingredient.)

1. Spray both sides of bread with cooking spray; cook in large skillet, over medium heat, until golden on both sides. Keep warm.

2. Heat oil in medium saucepan until hot; add garlic and cook over low heat until garlic is very soft and very lightly browned, 5 to 8 minutes. Stir in cumin, oregano, and cayenne pepper; cook 1 to 2 minutes. Add stock to saucepan; heat to boiling. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, 5 minutes.  Slowly stir beaten egg into simmering broth.  Season to taste with salt.

3. Place slices of bread in bottoms of 4 shallow bowls; ladle soup over. Sprinkle with cilantro.

Leave a Reply

