The MUSIC in the Music

Isn’t it funny how you can be so sure about something, and you’re so sure you’ll never change your mind, and then some time later, you don’t know what you were thinking?

Not too long ago, within the last year or so, my friend Miranda said she would be interested in seeing Justin Timberlake in concert.  I said no way, not me, there’s not enough music in his music.  (That’s sort of my catch phrase to describe the kind of music I like.  There has to be some MUSIC in the music.)  And today, I absolutely can’t get enough of LoveStoned, off JT’s Future Sex/Love Sounds album.  The first half makes me want to dance, and the second half, which they don’t play on the radio, is just beautiful, flowing, emotional, makes me want to shut my eyes and breathe.  There is plenty of music in the music!

I don’t know what happened, exactly.  I haven’t been anti-pop, exactly, but I’ve definitely been more into alternative, rock, whatever you want to call it.  Stuff like Fallout Boy, Dashboard Confessional, Modest Mouse, Enation, Jackson Waters.  And then of course, what I call girly-pop, which not really pop but more acoustic, soul, lyrical music.  Mandy Moore’s new album, Joss Stone, Bethany Joy Galeotti.  Basically, music that I can sing along to for hours on end when I’m driving.  And always, the showtunes!  🙂  But artists like Gwen Stefani, Beyonce, Justin Timberlake, Fergie, Kanye West, Timbaland…It was always, no way!  You can’t convince me to listen to an entire song!

Do you understand the difference?  I can’t really explain it.  In my mind, all artists that I heard went into those two categories.  Worth listening to, or not enough music.  Then, somehow, I got hooked on Vanessa Hudgens’ album, and suddenly I’m hooked on that music that I used to call “not enough music in the music.”  I see it differently now.  I hear more music in it.  It sounds like every tiny note, syllable, or drum sound is put there deliberately.  Like the artist wants to strip it down and make you hear the important stuff.  And when I’m deliberately listening for all the sounds, there’s way more music in the music!  In a way, it’s actually more peaceful to listen to.  You’re not being bombarded by all this sound, you can actually hear the whole spectrum of music.

I don’t think I’ll ever get into techno, though.  There’s DEFINITELY no music in the music!  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 22:54:24

    I don’t usually have time to spend on line. Tonight I am having a late supper so I thought while I waited for my easy mac to heat I’d see what you were up to. This entry is coincidental in that I just put Emily to bed (about 2 1/2 hours late) after a concert. I took her to see Queen Latifah. Now ther is definitely some music in her music! See sang jazz, hip-hop, reggae, night club, and big band and so much more. I think you would have liked her condert. I would never have gotten tickets except Emily wanted to go and I wanted to give Emily all the life experience that she can get in this life. I am grateful to Emily for dragging me along. Always keep an open mind and enjoy what comes your way — Even Justin Timberlake. Good night and sleep well.
    Love,
    Tammy and Emily

    Reply

Leave a Reply

