THY will be done!

I found an interesting website today.  Its purpose is stated as “Daily Inspiration,” and “New Attitudes, New Possibilities.”  It seems to have articles about astrology and dream interpretation right alongside articles about faith and God.  Of course I realize, those are just two sides of the same coin of human spirituality.  I just never figured I would come across a situation where the two sides actually live in peace with one another!  As always, read with discretion, because whatever you believe, it appears that you might find something that isn’t true to your own truth.

I read an article called “God’s Will Is Mine,” which I found quite profound.  It is basically a study on the phrase in the Lord’s Prayer: “thy will be done.”  The author sees two ways that people respond to that phrase.  The first is with resignation and fear:

The phrase “thy will be done” in the Lord’s Prayer is a statement of resignation for many, the calling down of a power to do something that may not be what we had in mind. It’s as though we’re saying, “Since I can’t have what I want in life, I guess I’ll have to settle for what God wants.” And in some cases, there’s a little tinge of fear there. After all, we were brought up to believe that God punishes us for our sins, and that the will of God must contain some form of suffering and sacrifice for us.

The second way people tend to respond is with fear of what would happen if we prayed for our own will:

We’ve been told to be careful what we pray for because we might get it. In other words, “My will be done.” A Course In Miracles states it this way:

The very fact that the Will of God, which is what you are, is perceived as fearful, demonstrates that you are afraid of what you are. It is not, then, the Will of God of which you are afraid, but yours…. You do not ask only for what you want. This is because you are afraid you might receive it, and you would.

That’s an intriguing paradox…I am afraid of what God might want to do to me, but I am afraid that what I think I want might not be good after all.  And the question becomes…What do I trust?  The will of God, who made me and loves me and knows all?  Or the will of me, who makes nothing, and knows nothing?

Another valuable lesson: I am the will of God!  He created me.  I am His will brought into the world.  He and I are not the same, exactly, but He and I are together in this world, sharing one body and one life, wanting the same things, working for the same goals.

The burning desires of my heart born of love represent the one common will pushing on my consciousness to express. God’s will is peace and joy, radiant wholeness and well-being, creative success and abundant prosperity, right relations and harmony. Is that not our will, too? There is only one will.

(Watch out, here comes the Friday night rambling…)    (But it’s all rationalized in my head…To make my point, I need to start at the beginning!)

I have believed in God literally for as long as I can remember.  The whole part about Jesus and my need for a Savior came about 20 years later.  🙂  But I have had a personal relationship with God, my creator, since I was little.  It was the same kind of relationship a little kid would have with anybody, simple and direct.  But it was real.  I sat in the grass looking for clover leaves, and His creation was all around me to touch, see, hear, smell, taste if I found a nice fresh clover flower.  🙂  My parents took me to church and I got goosebumps when the choir sang the Gloria or the Alleluia.  I talked to God and He made me feel better, helped me figure out what to do.  Intellectually it was all from a very Catholic perspective, of course.  But deep down I always felt it wouldn’t matter if I were Catholic or not.  I was taught that kids whose parents didn’t tell them about God couldn’t really believe in Him.  I always had this feeling of, How could anyone not believe in God?  Here He is, right inside me all the time.  There He is, in the grass and in the sky.  Can’t you feel Him?

As I got older and learned more about what other people in the world did and didn’t believe, I always said that we just put different words on the same thing.  Mother Earth, The Great Spirit, The Universe, all the different names that different belief traditions use for that which came before us and created us.  I call Him God, because that’s what my faith tradition taught me, but the word doesn’t make Him different.  “A rose by any other name,” and all.  🙂  So maybe it does make sense to put articles like the one I read alongside articles about how the moon’s energy can affect your business ventures.  It’s all just different names for the same thing, this Higher Power that most people seem to know is there.

Jesus came to earth and died to accept the consequences of our sinfulness on our behalf.  Then He rose from the dead, proving that it was successful.  But have you ever considered that maybe it’s just one chapter in God’s story, a story that is probably much bigger than we can imagine?

Leave a Reply

