quotes and recipes

Fact for the day: The person who said “you can never be too rich or too thin” was both.

If you have been through puberty and your waist is bigger than your hips, you may be in need of some exercise.  Or you may be five months pregnant, I can’t tell from here.

If you eat healthy food and have a few indulgences every now and again and if you also exercise three times a week for more than half an hour, you are at the size and shape you should be.  This formula is agreed upon by doctors, nutritionists, and body-image consultants.  If anybody tells you any different, they’re either misled or trying to sell you something.  You may shout at them.

Kaz Cooke, Real Gorgeous

All three of the above quotes are  from a book I stumbled upon in the library.  I think Ms. Cooke’s purpose is to bring a little perspective to all this hype we experience.  But it’s funny, and it came into my life at the perfect time!  I think God left that book there for me to find…

Yesterday I spent $20 at the farmers’ market.  For one person who lives by herself, that’s a lot of vegetables!  Everything just looked so fresh and good!  So I had a very veggie day, and I’m sure there will be a few more!  For supper tonight I made hot spinach sandwiches, which is a recipe I found about a year ago, and I love it.  If you like spinach dip, or that hot spinach-artichoke dip at restaurants, you would like this.  I also made creamy cucumber salad with a huge cucumber and an onion from the farmers’ market.  I have never in my life used a recipe to make that, so there aren’t amounts, you just have to judge the sauce by how much cucumber you have.  More cucumber, more mayo and vinegar.  But I thought you might enjoy the recipe.

Hot Spinach Sandwiches

10 oz. package frozen spinach, cooked and drained

½ cup sour cream

1 package dry vegetable soup mix

½ cup shredded mozzerella cheese

Mix the sour cream and soup mix into the spinach. Add cheese and mix. Spread into a lightly greased 8×8 baking dish. Bake at 350 for 15-25 minutes, until cheese is melted and starts to bubble at the edges. Spread on bread, pitas, or tortillas.

Creamy Cucumber Salad

Mix a dollop of mayonnaise and about 1/4 cup sugar in a large bowl.  Use a whisk to mix in vinegar to make the sauce a creamy consistency.  Add a little salt and pepper and one chopped onion.  Add sliced cucumbers and mix.  Serve immediately, or refridgerate a few hours for best flavor.

Don’t worry, one of these days I’ll talk about something besides food!  🙂

Leave a Reply

