The New Plan

I’m backing out of a plan…again.  I can’t help but wish this weren’t the right thing for me.  Here’s the new plan–I’m not going to buy a house right now.  I will be renewing my apartment lease for another year.  It sort of stinks, because there are so many things that I was starting to look forward to.  But on the other hand, it’s the right thing. 

Basically, God told me no.  Believe me or don’t, but that’s the truth.  I prayed about it, often and fervently, and slowly several different things began to work out so that buying a house would not be an option right now, unless I totally want to live on ramen noodles and kool-aid for the next year or two.  Actually, I don’t know if anything changed, or if I just began to realize what was already there.  In any case, as I began to realize that it would be almost impossible right now, I also began to get this sense that I’m supposed to just stay.  Stick to the status quo for awhile and see what happens.  I don’t know if anything will happen, or what I imagine that might be, but I just get this…sense, I guess…that something is going to.

Here’s another thing…I love my spending money!  I love the freedom to go and buy a cd I want, or go on vacation, or blow some money at a clothing store, or just go out with friends at the spur of the moment.  If I bought a house, little things would come up that I would need to fix, and my spending money would be the first to go.  I’m not willing to do that just yet.  Not only that, but I’m finally to the point that I have that disposable income, after working hard on my credit card debt the last couple of years!  Maybe I just want a year to enjoy it before I think about buying a house.

This decision was not a big deal at all for me.  I asked, and the answer came.  That’s all there is to it.  If only they could all be this easy!

Leave a Reply

