The logical next step?

Through a not-so-encouraging visit with the mortgage person at the bank, I’m not sure I will be getting a house anytime soon.  I don’t know, it still might work out one way or another.  But it seems I will be dragging the readers of this blog through the ups and downs of this process, so I’d grab a seat an hold on, if I were you…  🙂

Right now I’m thinking maybe it would be better just to stay where I am.  For one thing, I could aggressively pay of my college debt, which I probably wouldn’t be able to do with all the expenses that come with a house.  Those expenses are dollars put away for later, because you get to benefit from that money again when you sell the house.  But, having my college debt paid off faster would be more dollars to benefit from later, too, since I wouldn’t be paying as much interest over the life of the loan.  (Oh great, now I’m starting to sound like a lender commercial!)

Buying a house was never a solution to a problem, it was just a logical next step, moneywise.  So maybe working hard towards my remaining debt would be another option for a logical next step.

Plus, then I wouldn’t have to worry about buying a house that crumbles into the basement before I move in…  🙂

I don’t know what I’m going to end up doing.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Jul 20, 2007 @ 22:33:37

    Dawn,
    Remember the banker may not be talking about some of the first time buyer programs because that can cut into their share of the profits. Before giving up completely you may want to get a realator involved and since they are highly interested in selling you a house they are more apt to tell you about possibilities that a banker will not. On the other hand, you don’t want to get in to deep in bills & debt so you have to try to evaluate and balance what all the different “professionals” are telling you. I remember the first time we talked to a “professional” about buying a house–I figured there was no way it would ever happen! Our first financing was a first time buyer program and it did help alot on the necessary cash and the interest rate. The are down sides also but I just hate to see one “sour grape” spoil the whole experience before it even gets started!
    See ya in 8 days!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

