Worst-case Scenarios and Cottages

I was once told that buying a house is as stressful as getting married or adding a child to your family by birth or adoption.  A couple of weeks ago, I thought of that and I thought, “Surely not, not for me, not this time.”  After all, it’s just me.  No need to worry if it’s in the same school neighborhood as my current home.  Only one job to consider the proximity for.  No need to satisfy several people’s “must have” lists for a home–If I can live with it, that’s all that matters.  Maybe the next time I buy a house, when I’ll likely have a husband and kids, maybe then it will be a huge stress, but not this time.

Clearly, I was wrong!  The last couple of days I’ve been feeling a lot of anxiety for this process.  I don’t understand it, I don’t know what to expect.  I know what to expect when I rent a new apartment, God knows, I’ve done it enough!  But I don’t know how the process of buying a house goes.  This afternoon I have my first actual “take action” event.  I am meeting with someone at my bank to find out some information about financing.  I’m sure I’ll feel much better after that.

At least, I hope so, because this anxiety has taken on a life of its own!  My imagination spins worst-case scenarios day and night…

It’s the day I’m closing on a great house.  I go to the meeting, sign everything, get the keys.  I go over to the house, just to celebrate that it’s actually mine, and Tara, Chad, hopefully Sarah, and I do something to make it mine, like I don’t know, put a welcome mat on the porch or something.  Then we sit on the empty living room floor and have a beer.  As we’re walking back to the car, the house suddenly crumbles into the basement.  Now I owe a mortgage on a pit of dust with a welcome mat.

Or another scenario…I’ve found a great house, I’ve closed, signed the paperwork, moved in.  I’m totally settled and I get my first bill for the mortgage.  Somehow, I’ve misread a few zeros and I owe, like, $85,000 a month or something.

On a more positive note, I have found a style of house that I really like!  I love bungalows, aka cottages, craftsman, 1 1/2 story, and the somewhat similar Cape Cod style home.  I don’t know if that’s what I’ll find to buy this time, but it’s good to know that all my anxiety-brewing research has left me a little wiser.  I stumbled across Ross Chapin Architects, and found two little cottages that I love:

Erin Cottage

Coho Cottage

Not like I’ll really get these particular homes…unless I learn how to build a house…  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 13:52:05

    Dawn, I also find the story and a half models quite charming. They can be reasonably priced and allow for some of your own “character” to be added to the house without horrible expense. Also I can imagine it being a good size for a one person + one pet family.
    I cannot even imagine home buying without stress?:(
    Love
    Betty

    Reply

Leave a Reply

