Natural Living, pt. 2 (aka, pre-motherhood opinions)

After reading some of the stories that people submitted to the challenge at Walk Slowly, Live Wildly, I’ve decided I need to add just a little.  Obviously, I have no parenting experience whatsoever!  So you can call this my pre-motherhood opinions…

Attachment parenting, babywearing, cloth diapering, breastfeeding, cosleeping…these are all basically buzzwords that lots of parents do without being “activists” about them.  Personally, I am all for each of those concepts, but I would imagine that you can’t truly make the decisions until you have children to raise.  Babywearing–how much easier than trying to ignore a crying baby who just wants to be held while you do other things.  How loving to reassure them that you have time for them.  Cloth diapering–much more work, but less chemicals for baby!  (See last post on my “chemical” opinion…)  Breastfeeding–OF COURSE!  Formula seems kinda like fake food if you ask me.  Breastmilk is created just for the purpose of being the perfect food for baby, changing as the baby grows, all that good stuff.  Plus it would certainly be easier to deal with in the middle of the night.  If breastfeeding doesn’t work out (and I know lots of times it doesn’t) I suppose you would just have to trust that in the midst of the synthetic vitamins and palm kernel oil, they really knew what they were doing when they made the formula. 

And finally, cosleeping–sounds easier than getting out from under your covers and going to another room to comfort a baby who wakes up in the night.  I’m a little skeptical about the whole “they will happily transition to their own bed when they are ready” part of it.  What if you have three or four kids who all feel that they are not ready?  Where do the parents sleep???  🙂  I forsee myself transitioning my kids on purpose at some point if they don’t just “want to” go to their own rooms.  I also forsee specific issues, like I wouldn’t want to go to bed at the same time as my toddler, so what would I do, tuck him or her in for the night in my bed?  Another would be…”quality time” with your husband.  Although, upon further research into the topic I read that some parents do put their kids to bed in the parents’ bed, or give the kids the choice of going to bed in the parents’ room or their own room as a way of encouraging them to consider sleeping in their own room.  For “quality time,” one article was written by a father (I think it was entitled “Real Men Sleep With Their Babies”), and said that the bedroom was the boring place in the house to do that with your spouse, and you should get creative about it whether you had kids or not.  😉

Perhaps I should spend my time in more relevant ways.  I’m not going to need any of this information for quite awhile.   Walk Slowly, Live Wildly, you got me curious!  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Doris
    Jul 13, 2007 @ 14:37:54

    The cloth diapers take as much chemical/toll on the earth as disposible and cost is equal when you figure in the cost to wash and care for cloth. The bigger difference comes in the disposal since cloth are recycled into rags in most homes before going to burn barrel or land fill.

    One thought on the breastfeeding and cloth diapers…breast fed babies poop lots, I mean really lots, more than formula fed and it is much looser so more labor intensive and messy in the baby you are wearing all day. Have fun with that one.

    A very important thought on cosleeping…SIDS is a real risk in babies that sleep with an adult, almost as much of a risk as smoking before and after the baby is born. Not a risk I think worth taking. A bassinet or crib in the parents room is so much safer. and from experience they do not go back to their own bed without strong encouragement to do so. I am aware of some parents that are still sleeping with teenagers. A little too long for anyone’s healthy sleep habits.

    Overall green is better and green comes in all shades from very pale green to very dark green. I hope I am at least medium green most days.

    Love
    Doris J

    Reply

  2. Betty
    Jul 14, 2007 @ 11:38:38

    Dawn, I just love that you are so passionate about the things that matter to you! You just keep reading and researching and you will know what is right for you and your family.
    See ya soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

