Reflections on Vegas

I just got back from a trip to Las Vegas with Becky and Blake, and their friend Meredith.  Saying it was awesome doesn’t quite describe it!  A few of my favorites–palm trees, the fountains at Bellagio, Phantom of the Opera at the Venetian, the Hoover Dam, daquiris like 18 inches tall, the hugeness and richness of all the hotels on the strip, all the sunshine…

There was an interview with the princes of Great Britain recently on t.v.  They were asked what they thought of America.  Prince Harry said that it’s so vast and diverse.  They said there is so much to see, so many things that are so different from on another.  That is very true.  I live here, and I had never been to a place like Nevada, where the humidity is almost nothing and the temperature is 85 in the middle of the night, where grass doesn’t really grow, where there is a city practically entirely devoted to being a big party for tourists.  It makes me want to keep traveling and try to experience as much of the United States as I can before I die.  It’s not enough to just know it’s there, I want to go see it!  The water show at the Bellagio was on Oceans 11, and Chad’s mom told us that it was really neat to see, but seeing it on a movie, being told about it, is nothing compared to experiencing it right in front of me.  I think I really could sit there and watch it for hours.  I want to keep those experiences coming!

But not today.  Today I want to sleep until noon, do my laundry, wear my pajamas all day, and take several naps.  🙂

By far, my favorite part of the trip was hanging out with Becky and Blake, and meeting Meredith.  When you don’t see someone as often, I think you can miss them like crazy, but you can forget about little things that you love about them.  I forgot how wonderful Becky is at analyzing my life for me.  🙂  I know that sounds silly, and it really is.  But I tell her what’s bothering me, and she sums it all up in one sentence that makes a lot of sense.  During a quiet moment of laying by the pool, Becky and I were talking about stuff, and I was telling her about things that I was stressing about that were so minor, little things that shouldn’t stress me out as much as they do.  And Becky said, “I think life is just piling up and stressing you out right now.”  See?  Makes a lot of sense. 

I also forgot about Blake’s subtle humor.  Blake is very mello (I still don’t know how to spell that…mellow?) and laid back, a very good example of the idea of “still waters run deep.”  He has a calming, strong presence, and there’s more going on under the surface than what you see when you are with him.  I really admire that, because I know that everything I think and feel comes out, whether or not it’s appropriate.  🙂  Anyway, Blake’s humor just hits you out of the blue sometimes.  It’s so subtle, in the tone of voice and the timing of the comment.  We were just coming down to the runway in Vegas, and Blake said, “Okay, let’s see how good this guy really is!”  BOOM!  THUD!  BUMP!  SCREEECH!!!  I think I would have bounced out of my seat and hit my head on the ceiling if it weren’t for my seatbelt.  “Not that good.”  Then when Becky was taking my picture with a palm tree, I wondered out loud if palm trees were pokey to touch.  Blake says, “Only one way to find out!”  It’s just those little comments, inserted in just the right place in a situation, with just the right amount of sarcasm.

Meredith was fun to get to know.  I was immediately very comfortable around her.  I hope we get to hang out again sometime.

Now it’s time to start planning my vacation with my sisters in August!

Leave a Reply

