A small goal

Two posts in one night…I must be on blog withdrawal!  I wish I had a digital camera so I could chronical my life in pictures for you all.  I’m sure I would get much more enjoyment out of doing it than you would out of looking at them…

Not too long ago, I talked about habits.  Well, I’m realizing one that is just starting.  I have gotten in a horrible cycle of staying up late.  Here’s how it goes–One evening, I feel fully rested, and I find something I want to do at 10:00 or later.  I go to bed at midnight or after.  The next day, I am tired all day at work, and I’m tired at home in the evening, so I just sit around, watch t.v., eat supper, and plan to go to bed early.  Then I catch my second wind at about 9:00 or 9:30.  So I start doing things like dishes or laundry, basically I find things to do that I should have done earlier.  I go to bed late again.  I wake up and spend the next day being tired, and the cycle continues! 

Clearly, this is bad for me.  I don’t get as much done at work or at home.  I’m either irritable or listless.  I get mad at my students more easily.  I don’t want to do anything social, I just want to go home and sit on my couch.  I have no energy to exercise or take the time to cook nourishing meals for myself.  I think my health suffers, long-term.  Right now I haven’t gotten enough sleep in probably two weeks, and I’m starting to get a cold, for the first time this school year!!!  That could just be a theory. 

You know, I don’t really understand the term “listless.”  Without a list?  Like maybe I don’t even have the motivation to make a list of things I should do? 

Okay, back to the topic.  I need to get out of this habit immediately!  So I’m going to make a small goal.  Next week, I will go to bed by 10:30 every night, Sunday through Thursday.  Just five days.  Hopefully that will be enough to break the habit.  I always try to think, what can I do right now to make this better???  Well, even though it’s 1:00 a.m., I can stop dinking around online and go to bed.  So…goodnight!

Leave a Reply

