a few unwelcome tasks

Tonight I find myself in a mood of complaint.  I feel like doing NOTHING.  Absolutely the only thing I want to do is whine.  Literally, with a little-kid voice that would drive you out of my home, WHINE.  I’m not even going to pretend there’s a good reason for it, because there’s not.  I’m tired, practically asleep on my feet, presumably because of a project that I will tell you about when I’m not so tired, and when I hopefully have some pictures to show for it.  But at this moment…just tired.  And inexcusably whiny.  My freshly bathed puppy has found his sleeping place among the blankets, and before I follow his example, I should really unpack from the weekend.  I should also fold the laundry and get ready for tomorrow.  To be honest, I SHOULD have done these things a few hours ago.  So, to motivate me, I searched for this quote that I remembered reading a few weeks ago on girltalk.blogs.com

“NO unwelcome tasks become any the less unwelcome by putting them off till tomorrow. It is only when they are behind us and done, that we begin to find that there is a sweetness to be tasted afterwards, and that the remembrance of unwelcome duties unhesitatingly done is welcome and pleasant. Accomplished, they are full of blessing, and there is a smile on their faces as they leave us. Undone, they stand threatening and disturbing our tranquility, and hindering our communion with God. If there be lying before you any bit of work from which you shrink, go straight up to it, and do it at once. The only way to get rid of it is to do it.” Alexander MacLaren

I don’t know who Mr. MacLaren is, but I thank him!  I will go, do these tasks, and they will be behind me, finished and sweet! 

Leave a Reply

