The things that move me

“Tell me what moves you, and I will tell you who you are.”

I love this quote by Romano Guardini.  I found it in the guide that my Bible study group is using.  He was talking about God when he wrote this, because God is moved by the “suffering human heart.”  But doesn’t it apply to us as well?  What moves me, what affects me deep in my heart and soul, what leads me to tears of pain or joy–these things say a lot about who I am.  If I am moved by a glorious sunrise, at least I stopped long enough to appreciate it, and hopefully appreciate He who created it.  If I am moved by a beautiful love story, I have the hope that true love exists in the real world, that people know how to be kind and good to one another.  If I am moved by the rhythm and harmony of a song, I experience a thrill that can’t be recreated.  The things that move me in this way demonstrate where my priorities could be if I let go of the “supposed to’s”…Supposed to rush through the day, supposed to get the most accomplished that I can, supposed to be a certain way or do certain things.  They show where my heart really is, where my real self truly lies.

What moves you?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. William Holland
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 16:06:02

    Anyone who mentions Romano Guardini is a friend of mine lol. Keep up the great work. wjholland.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

