Brushing my teeth

I’ve decided I’m going to try to make exercise like brushing my teeth.  Sometimes, I really want to brush my teeth.  When I have a cold and there’s pressure in my sinuses, brushing my teeth is like a massage.  Then there are times when I just want the feeling of having freshly clean teeth.  And sometimes, brushing my teeth is just…brushing my teeth.  No pleasure, no pain.  Just something I do.  But pleasurable or not, I would never think of skipping it! 

That’s how I want working out to be.  Sometimes, I want to work out.  I want to run, I need to burn off energy, or I want the high, the way every muscle and organ in my body feels so great when I’m done.  Or maybe I want to do yoga, I just need some silence and balance.  But a lot of the time, I don’t crave exercise.  It’s not like I think it would cause pain, I just don’t have any motivation to get off the couch and do it.  I know it’s good for me, just like brushing my teeth.  I want to make it such a habit that I just do it, that I never skip it.

So….How?  🙂

Leave a Reply

