It’s that time of year…

It’s that time of year…I miss marching band!  It always comes right around the time I start getting interested in football again.  And I miss the people I met in marching band.  I don’t wish I could do it again, I just miss it.  Does that make sense?  I wish I lived closer to College Town so I could go to some of the games, enjoy the football, see what the new shows will be this year. 

School is going great so far.  I have six “returners,” kids who were in my class last year also.  It makes it so easy!  It’s more like coming back from a REALLY long break than like starting a school year.  I definitely have more time to devote to changing the things that need to be changed from last year.  Plus, I’m just blown away by how far the returners have come in one year, and I can’t wait to see what they can do at the end of this year.

Pal is…fine…  🙂  I guess I shouldn’t talk about him, because when I talk about how great he’s doing with housetraining, he immediately regresses again.  Recently I had been putting him in the crate only from the time I woke up in the morning until the time I left for work, so that I could get ready without worrying about accidents, but then take him out right before I left.  Last week I was so confident that I put the crate in my storage closet and left Pal out 24 hours a day!  Well, apparently that was a mistake because he did great the whole week, but then had a couple of accidents on Friday while I was gone.  And yesterday, from about 1:00 p.m. until about 10:00 p.m., I cleaned up about nine or ten of them!!!  (He drank a LOT of water while I was giving him a bath yesterday morning, so I’m thinking that might have been a fluke.)  In any case, my confidence is gone and he’s back in the crate for today.  Who knows.  I always say I didn’t want a hamster, I wanted a dog!   (Hampster?  Hamster?)  I really don’t want to keep him in a crate.  I would love nothing more than to take him out once in the morning and once in the evening, and know that there will be no accidents in between.  But at this point, I’m more concerned about my nice new apartment with the nice new carpet and nice new tile.  (And my stuff…Last night I was organizing old bills to file away, and wouldn’t you know it, Pal had one of his accidents right on one of the piles!)  It’s not really fair to Pal to be in the crate for so many hours a day, but those are hours he would be sleeping for the most part anyway.  I don’t really have a plan, or a solution.  It’s been almost a year…A solution would have come up by now!!!  Today, he’s in the crate.  I don’t know what I’ll do tomorrow.  I would like to think that a year from now, he’ll be trustworthy in the house by himself, and be fine for many hours, but who knows.  It’s been suggested that I just buy a house with all hard floors, and that idea is sounding better and better.

I guess that leads to my next point…I LOVE my new apartment!  I love to clean it and keep it neat, because it looks so nice with the new furniture.  I found a dining room table at Goodwill, now I’m on the lookout for chairs.  It is great to have the laundry right there.  Laundry has never been so easy, it seems like! 

That’s all for now.  Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

